An Overview of the External Commercial Borrowings Framework in India

Webinar | April 26, 2022 | 2:30 PM India Time / 4:00 PM Vietnam Time / 5:00 PM China Time

Register

On April 26, Business Advisory Services Senior Associate Vikas Saluja will host a detailed webinar covering the framework of External Commercial Borrowings and Trade credit in India.

External Commercial Borrowings are loans made by non-resident lenders to Indian borrowers in foreign currency. Foreign companies coming to India can raise ECBs from internationally recognized sources such as banks, export credit agencies, international capital markets, etc.

With the Reserve Bank of India lifting sectoral curbs and easing foreign borrowing norms to improve ease of doing business in the country, India’s External Commercial Borrowings (ECBs) reached $31.18 billion between April 2021 and January 2022.

Whilst ECBs pose an opportunity for Indian and foreign companies to raise large volumes of funds at a lower interest rate and for a relatively longer duration, it is important to determine their eligibility criteria, define the purpose and duration of borrowing, the amount required, and fulfilment of requisite compliances regarding the application, amongst others.

We invite you to join us in this webinar to develop a holistic perspective on the framework of ECBs in India.

Vikas will cover the following topics in his presentation:

  • External Commercial Borrowings in India: An Overview
  • Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Guidelines
  • Procedure of Raising ECBs
  • Reporting Requirements as per RBI
  • Conversion of ECB into Equity
  • ECB facility for Start-ups
  • Trade Credit- Framework
  • Income-tax Act, 1961

To register, click here.

Speaker

Event Info

Apr 26, 2022

Location & Time

Webinar | April 26, 2022 | 2:30 PM India Time / 4:00 PM Vietnam Time / 5:00 PM China Time

VENUES

Online


Join a participating event, and we’ll donate a tree to help reforest Asia.
Program Details